Eclipse Foundation Board of Directors

John Arthorne Elected Committer Representative

John has worked on the Eclipse and Equinox projects for the past decade in many different areas. He was the main developer on the resource model for many years, and designed the platform's concurrency infrastructure. In recent years he has focused on the Orion project, provisioning (p2), e4, and overall platform API quality. John is a member of the Eclipse Architecture Council, Planning Council, Eclipse Project PMC, and the Eclipse Foundation Board of Directors. John is a Senior Software Developer at IBM, based in Ottawa, Canada.

Jutta Bindewald SAP SE

Jutta joined SAP in 1993 as a software developer. She has worked in various areas of SAP’s technology platform, ranging from R/2 over R/3 to NetWeaver Java. Currently Jutta is working as Development Manager, leading the Java Persistence team. Additionally, she takes care of many Open Source related topics like Eclipse Long-Term Support. Jutta holds a Ph.D. in Mathematics from the Technical University of Darmstadt.

Sebastien Gerard CEA LIST

Wenbin He Actuate Corporation

Pat Huff IBM

Pat Huff is a Program Director in IBM Rational, responsible for Open Source and Eclipse. Pat manages an Open Source Center of Competency and the relationship between the IBM product development community and Eclipse. Pat has a long history of producing software development tools and frameworks, and in introducing open source and agile programming concepts into corporate infrastructures. His current interests lie in realizing Open Source's potential in commercially successful offerings. In addition to his board duties, Pat is the Chair of the Eclipse IP Advisory Committee and the co-chair of the Eclipse Long term Support Industry Working Group.

Tyler Jewell Codenvy, S.A.

Etienne Juliot OBEO

Etienne Juliot is co-founder and vice president of Obeo, a software editor focused on Model Driven solutions. He is a senior software architect with a strong experience in IT and embedded systems architecture. He is involved in several Eclipse projects (Sirius, Acceleo, EMF Compare, SCA, UML Generators, Mylyn, ...) and is a steering committee member for PolarSys.

Finally, Etienne manages international and strategic collaborations with large companies on system engineering and enterprise architecture needs. Follow @ejuliot on Twitter.

Mik Kersten Elected Sustaining Member Representative

Dr. Mik Kersten is the CEO of Tasktop Technologies, creator and leader of the Eclipse Mylyn open source project and inventor of the task-focused interface. As a research scientist at Xerox PARC, Mik implemented the first aspect-oriented programming tools for AspectJ. He created Mylyn and the task-focused interface during his PhD in Computer Science at the University of British Columbia. Mik has been an Eclipse committer since 2002, is an elected member of the Eclipse Board of Directors and serves on the Eclipse Architecture and Planning councils. Mik's thought leadership on task-focused collaboration makes him a popular speaker at software conferences, and he was voted a JavaOne Rock Star speaker in 2008 and 2009. Mik enjoys building tools that offload our brains and make it easier to get creative work done. Follow @mik_kersten on Twitter.

Markus Knauer Innoopract GmbH

Dennis Leung Oracle

Dennis Leung is Vice-President of Development for Oracle Fusion Middleware, leading the development teams for the award-winning Oracle TopLink product, Eclipse Dali, and EclipseLink projects. Dennis has been involved in providing enterprise data solutions for over 14 years and also has a background in telecommunications. He holds a bachelor's degree in computer science from the University of British Columbia and a Master of Business Administration from Queens University.

Paul Lipton CA Technologies

Paul Lipton is an Advisor and Senior Architect in CA where he leads the CA Industry Standards and Open Source Program in the Office of the CTO. Paul has been an architect and developer of enterprise systems for over 20 years. He has also participated in many standards organizations including OASIS and the W3C, and serves on the Board of Directors of the DMTF. Paul is a founding member of the CA Council for Technical Excellence, where he chairs the Emerging Technology Committee and also leads a project focused on leveraging Web 2.0 to improve research collaboration. He is also a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional and a Sun Java Champion. Paul is a highly sought-after author and speaker, and has shared his knowledge with appreciative audiences around the world covering topics such as industry standards, SOA, open source, technical innovation, enterprise architecture, social computing, virtualization, Web services, management/security, governance, autonomic computing, Web 2.0 and many other emerging technologies.

Ed Merks Elected Committer Representative

Ed Merks leads the Eclipse Modeling Framework project and co-leads the Eclipse Modeling project along with Rich Gronback from Borland.  He is a coauthor of the authoritative book EMF: Eclipse Modeling Framework which is nearing completion of a second edition. He is interested in all aspects of Eclipse modeling and its applications.  He is well recognized for his dedication to the Eclipse community, posting literally thousands of newsgroup answers each year.  He is also an active blogger.  He spent 16 years at IBM, achieving the level of Senior Technical Staff Member after completing his Ph.D. at Simon Fraser Univeristy.  His experience in modeling technology spans 25 years.

Wolfgang Neuhaus itemis AG

Wolfgang Neuhaus is a co-founder and member of the board of itemis AG. Previously he was Chief Information Officer (CIO) of Brockhaus AG and headed a team of 80 software developers and consultants.

Wolfgang earned a degree in Computer Science from the University of Dortmund in 1995. He has extensive practical experience in introducing and implementing Model Driven Software Development, which is his core focus. He is a well-known journal-published writer, an IT conference speaker, and is responsible for the company's technical vision and for the cooperation with research institutes.

He also is a member of the strategy committee for software intensive embedded systems of BITKOM.

Shawn Pearce Google Inc.

Shawn Pearce is a software engineering manager in Google's Open Source Programs Office, where he leads Git related tool development. After being a long-time contributor to the Git version control system, Shawn founded the EGit and JGit projects at Eclipse, and the Gerrit Code Review project as an off-shoot of the Android Open Source Project. At Google, Shawn and his team continue to develop innovative improvements for Git and Gerrit Code Review.

Max Rydahl_Andersen Elected Sustaining Member Representative

Max Rydahl Andersen is leading the development of JBoss Tools and Red Hat JBoss Developer Studio and have several years working with Eclipse from both outside and inside of His main interests for is to keep the Eclipse IDE a viable platform for building desktop based tooling while also getting involved in offering a complementary cloud and web-based tooling offering.