Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Equinox » Dynamic Bundle Discovery from Equinox Embedded in a J2SE Application
Dynamic Bundle Discovery from Equinox Embedded in a J2SE Application [message #89369] Fri, 01 June 2007 14:42 Go to next message
Eclipse UserFriend
Originally posted by: sjohnson.mediaspansoftware.com

Hello,

I'm new to Equinox (and OSGi for that matter). I have an application
(J2SE) that I'd like to write that starts up an embedded OSGi framework.
I found some posts online that refer to using either EclipseStarter or
the org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main classes to programmatically launch
the OSGi framework from my app's main() method.

I have been able to get the app and framework started via the
EclipseStarter route, but it fails to load any bundles in the plugins
directory automatically (as I expected it would based on the Equinox
Quick Start documentation). My app's folder layout was thus:

/root
/configuration
config.ini
/plugins
org.eclipse.equinox.common_3.2.0.v20060603.jar
org.eclipse.update.configurator_3.2.2.R32x_v20070111.jar
my.app.bundle.jar
equinox.jar
myapp.jar

I have been unable to startup using the
org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.main() method because it claims it cannot
find the framework:

java.lang.RuntimeException: Could not find framework
at org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.getBootPath(Main.java:639)
at org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.basicRun(Main.java:274)
at org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.run(Main.java:977)
at org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.main(Main.java:952)

In that case I used the following layout (again based on some comments
online I came across):

/root
myapp.jar
/configuration
config.ini
/plugins
equinox.jar
startup.jar
org.eclipse.equinox.common_3.2.0.v20060603.jar
org.eclipse.update.configurator_3.2.2.R32x_v20070111.jar
my.app.bundle.jar

I changed my app's classpath to reflect the new location of the equinox