Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Modeling » OCL » Migration of "Sequencer" dependencies(Questions on migrating to newer OCL versions (from 2021 to 2024))
Migration of "Sequencer" dependencies [message #1864096] Fri, 15 March 2024 13:55 Go to next message
Nghia Be is currently offline Nghia BeFriend
Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I'm still very new to OCL in general.

I'm currently working on my thesis (improving a DSL) and have some problem with the new OCL system (migrating from older to newer version).

The DSL I be working with has used Eclipse 2021-12 toolset, which has some differences comparing to newer versions (OCL 6.19/6.20).

Specifically, the files (*):
- (Abstract)OCLinEcoreSemanticSequencer.java,
- (Abstract)EssentialOCLSemanticSequencer.java
- (Abstract)BaseSemanticSequencer.java

are not available in newer versions of OCL.

About my DSL:
- It has some folders that were taken from OCL repository.
- It has a serializer package (src-gen/org.eclipse.dsl.serializer), which contains AbstractDSLSemanticSequencer (extends org.eclipse.xtext.serializer.sequencer.AbstractSyntacticSequencer) and AbstractDSLSyntacticSequencer (extends org.eclipse.ocl.xtext.oclinecore.serializer.OCLinEcoreSemanticSequencer).

I have several questions:

1. What's the purpose of AbstractSyntacticSequencer and OCLinEcoreSemanticSequencer? Can you guess why the DSL authors decided to inherit OCLinEcoreSemanticSequencer and not AbstractSemanticSequencer (in same package with the Abs.Syntactic.Seq)?

2. For not understanding the purpose of the Semantic Sequencer, I have tried 3 methods.
- Remove the files (*) and related dependencies.
- Copied the files that was lacking in the new OCL versions.
- Write my own helper functions that replaced the dependency on (*).