Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Papyrus for Real Time » Parallel / Distributed Execution
Parallel / Distributed Execution [message #1844820] Mon, 27 September 2021 08:18 Go to next message
Zoltan Szocs is currently offline Zoltan SzocsFriend
Hi All!

I am new to Papyrus, and I would need some help on how parallel processing works.

I understood from the documentation (can't find now where), that the capsules are being executed in parallel. I created a sample application, but I couldn't prove it: If I added sleep commands to certain parts of the code, everything stopped.

Also, I wanted to try out distributed execution of the generated application. I have found a plugin which promises exactly that (https://github.com/kjahed/papyrusrt-distribution). However, after installing this plugin I can no longer open old projects or create new Papyrus-RT projects.

Any help would be appreciated!

Regards,
Zoltan

Re: Parallel / Distributed Execution [message #1844843 is a reply to message #1844820] Mon, 27 September 2021 21:47 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ernesto Posse is currently offline Ernesto PosseFriend
Hello, first a couple of clarifications:

PapyrusRT is based on Papyrus, but it is not the same. It implements UML-RT, including code generation and a runtime system. Papyrus implements UML, code generation is optional and has no UML runtime.

A note about terminology, to avoid confusion. In UML-RT we talk about "capsules" and "capsule instances". The difference is important. A "capsule" is a *type*, in particular, a class in the object-oriented sense, more precisely an *active* class, while a capsule *instance* is an *object* which can be thought of as the thing that "runs".