Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Mosquitto » routing MQTT messages( between unencrypted and encrypted side with Mosquitto broker)
routing MQTT messages [message #1844572] Thu, 16 September 2021 17:24 Go to next message
Jan Haluz is currently offline Jan HaluzFriend
Hello,
I am new in this issue, and I have task that I have to send some data to MQTT broker with TLS encryption.
My SCADA system can operate with MQTT, but only unencrypted.
I am thinking about install some "MQTT gateway", which will talk with my SCADA unencrypted MQTT messages and sends them to MQTT broker encrypted.
SCADA is PC running SW in Windows, and I can install "MQTT gateway" locally on that PC, and sends encrypted data via internet.
I tried to start with basics in Mosquitto and I am able to publish and subscribe messages without encryption using my SCADA and Mosquitto broker. It's just for beginning...

It is possible with Mosquitto?

Thanks for help
Jan
Re: routing MQTT messages [message #1844606 is a reply to message #1844572] Fri, 17 September 2021 13:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Roger Light is currently offline Roger LightFriend
Hi Jan,

Yes this is possible. I would suggest running an unencrypted listener on your broker, then using a bridge to connect to the encrypted broker and forward on the topics that you are interested in. This is an example configuration file:

# Start an unencrypted listener for SCADA clients to connect to
listener 1888
# Don't require authentication
allow_anonymous true

# Make a bridge connection to a remote broker
connection scada-bridge
address <host/ip-address of remote broker>:<port>
cafile /path/to/ca/certificate/for/remote/broker.crt

# Authentication, if required:
#remote_username user
#remote_password password

# You can define multiple topics that will be sent from the local broker to the remote one:
topic scada/data/# out

Regards,

Roger