Skip to main content

Eclipse Community Forums
Forum Search:

Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » Eclipse Projects » Eclipse Platform » Possible Eclipse Bug??(Unable to access classes that are in my classpath)
Possible Eclipse Bug?? [message #1837482] Sun, 31 January 2021 15:41 Go to next message
Rob Tanner is currently offline Rob TannerFriend
Hi,

I'm a retired Java programmer trying to reinvigorate my Java chops. Prior to my retirement six years ago, I had been doing extensive web and web services programming in Java, using GlassFish and sometimes Tomcat on the backend. Now I'm doing some short term consulting and I need to write a REST client to manage data on a SalesForce instance. Since my current laptop was purchased post-retirement, Java was not installed on it, I went to the Oracle site and downloaded and installed Java v15.0.2. Also, since in my working days, I used the Eclipse IDE, I downloaded and installed the current version for the Eclipse Foundation website.

The Salesforce REST API documentation includes a sample Java class so I decided to start with that. I created a Java project and added the class. As it's dependent on a number of components in the org.apache.commons.httpclient package, I downloaded the jarfile and added it to the classpath in Eclipse. From the Package Explorer, I can see the jarfile under Reference Libraries. When I click on it, I can see the classifies required. Yet, according to the editor the classes in question are not accessible. This is obviously an Eclipse issue, but as I don't know what exactly it is, I don't know how to fix it. Whether or not it's germane to this issue or not, I do not know, I'm in a MacOS environment (I used to do all me development work on a linux workstation but that should be irrelevant). Also, the jarfile is dated from 2013. I don't know whether there are more recent versions but according to the MANIFEST, it was build using Java V1.5.0_09. Could that be part of the problem?